top of page
Julia Maria Kenji Quiñones

Remember, I remember


There was pain and there was sorrow

A grief I can't seem to swallow

A well of tears that are shallow

A prayer for a better tomorrow

I hold those memories in my hands

My head, my heart

I carry it all around with me

Like a baggage I can't leave

Every year that passes

I feel the burden of their absence

Remembering their best existence

But somehow it lightens and gets better

An acceptance of what's amidst the ether


And with these tiny little steps that I take

A memory in its wake

I hold onto it the longest

Praying it stays with me the hardest


For in times of my past grief

I feel their embrace - a sudden relief

That what awaits them on the other side

Is a peace I made with what's on mine



Illustration by: Mohaimen Aba

0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page