top of page
Maxine Naval

Frozen at Four


I was just this happy little kid

Playing toys, playing dolls,

Lovely, smiling and splendid.


I was just this happy little kid

Discovering the world,

Clueless, careful, timid.


But one day, all became dark.

Trapped inside a small, cold room,

lights in my eyes lost spark.


It started. It startled.

From a single knock on that door

Clueless, careless, struggled.


I was trapped by the unknown,

Sucked the soul out of my childhood.

Suffocation. Darkness. Apparition


I was trembling in fear,

Undressed, yet frozen

By the touch, and whisper in my ear.


I escaped that haunted room.

Those blank white walls, I've never forgotten,

I am still consumed by invisible wounds.


The next day, it happened again,

Sucked the soul out of my childhood.

At four, I was already frozen.


~

Maxine Loyola, 2021


Artwork by: Ivan Lester Castañeto


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page