top of page

For heathens, By skeptics Would you ̶at̶ ̶t̶en̶ d̶̶ ̶M̶is̶ ̶a̶ ̶de̶̶ ̶G̶al̶ l̶ o̶̶ eat Puto Bumbong with me?

        By definition, an Agnostic Theist is someone who believes in God, maybe even Gods, but cannot prove this claim a hundred percent. Skeptical in other terms, doubting. It’s just that, at times, truths are different from claims or beliefs. That’s why some are Gnostic Atheists, Heathens, they do not believe in God, a hundred percent. So, was it possible to ask him to join me to complete the Misa de Gallo? Hah, he said he would.

        I do not imagine myself holding his hand during the recital of The Lord’s Prayer nor watching his eyes droop while he keeps up with the priest’s lecture. He doesn’t have any interest in that. Perhaps, I imagine myself talking with him after the mass, standing outside the church and waiting for the kakanin we ordered. The kakanin that he never tried even once in his life.

        Comfort food? Street food? I don’t even know where to buy them aside from outside the church every after Simbang Gabi. All I know is that I look forward to this aside from the Homily. I would never get tired of trying this treat called Bibingka. A classic yellow rice cake or mamon that originated not only here in the Philippines but also in our neighboring country, Indonesia. Its softness will always linger on my tongue together with the toppings that could differ from cheddar cheese, coconut shavings, sliced salted duck egg, or even pineapple slices (seriously, they told me it was possible, but I just know it could be bad like pineapples on pizza, please respect my opinion).

        If he wants something heavier, then I’ll just pull him to the nearest stall that sells Arroz Caldo. He better not tell me that it is just a lugaw (Rice Porridge) because even though they look almost the same. Lugaw is way simpler to make and whiter in color, whereas arroz caldos are usually yellow (Is there something with yellows that was the common color for after-mass foods?). Also, this food has chicken pieces, not just chicken broth, doesn’t need tweaks, and doesn’t even necessarily need toppings because it will never be plain

        On the other hand, I hate the way he referred to Tupig as “inihaw na suman.” Well, for starters, it is indeed the grilled version of suman with coconut strips. The other difference between them is that tupig originated from the north, like Pangasinan or Tarlac, unlike suman, which originated in Visayas Region. I don’t also see the need of dipping to sweets like sugar or syrups. Tupig is fine as it is, best partnered with coffee.

        He doesn’t even know what Kutsinta is! He doesn’t know how jelly-like this treat is or how coconut shavings add texture to the food (I am starting to think that coconuts are the real star here, not rice). He’ll say it looks like a puto. I’ll say it is a kind of puto, just way stickier. It’s so chewy and a hundred times better than regular puto that you partner with dinuguan.

        Thankfully, he’s familiar with Taho, not the regular ones but those strawberry or ube-flavored taho you could have in Baguio. Still, taho is such a classic silken tofu with arnibal that you could find even during those regular mornings. Who would forget those vendors who will scream and sing “TAHO!” every morning? Who would refuse to taste the sweet and warm cup of taho during these cold mornings, right?

        Or if he wants something close to home, a literal one, we could always grab some hot drinks that we could partner with bread like chocolate. But I will never forget the way he said we should get some coffee. He hates coffee the same way that I love it. It woke me up most compared to the other after-mass food. Well, technically speaking, it is not food, yet still enough to fill up my empty stomach at 5:30 in the morning.

        “Miss ito na po special puto bumbong niyo,” the vendor called my attention as he was handing me the puto bumbong that I ordered. I smiled at him; how could I forget my favorite of them all? Sweet purple rice cake cooked in a bamboo steamer, usually topped with sugar, coconut shavings, and even condensed milk. Or if you want to make it more special, you could add leche flan to it. I have never seen anyone that sells puto bumbong when it isn’t Christmas season. It adds colors to these foods that are full of yellows. It is the classic of the classics every after Misa de Gallo.

        You might think I only attend the nine days of simbang gabi for these comfort foods, but no.

I still believe in God, I just don’t have enough proof for this claim. I still devote myself to him because, after all, truth is different from beliefs. And then there’s me, still believing that he’ll join me in attending these nine masses when the truth is, he forgot about it. He forgot how he told me that he would accompany me even though he didn’t believe in Him. He’ll join me and try these amazing foods, but he didn’t, and he won’t.

        Nonetheless, Simbang Gabi is still complete as long as I get to hear the Homily, feel the morning breeze, and enjoy my puto bumbong like I am doing right now. I just hope he’ll get to know these foods, too.

0 comments
bottom of page